SoHo’s distinctive bright red frame building, longtime home to The Antiquties Shoppe, is threatened with demolition. The store, on the northwest corner of Wellington and Hill Streets (129 Wellington), has been a SoHo landmark for over 130 years.
Antique dealers Bennett Grossman and Dan McLachlan rented the shop in 1978, painting the building its eye-catching bright red color three years later. The unique frame structure is considered a Priority 1 building (that’s the highest category for architectural or historic merit) on the city’s heritage inventory list. The antique dealers, who are retiring to their country home in Woodham, have been holding a going-out-of-business sale for some months.
For $132,900, someone with a passion for history can purchase one of the treasures of SoHo’s past. That treasure is the aluminum-sided cottage at 121 Clarence Street, the long-time home of John Law.
Law, a pioneer plumber, gas fitter, brass and bell founder and inventor, operated one of SoHo’s more interesting businesses. His final foundry was located right behind his home, at the end of Hill Street beside the river. That factory eventually became the Canadian Smelting and Refining Works – operating at least into the 1950s. Continue reading “John Law: Bell Maker and Inventor”
On a summer’s day in 1919, Tommy Wilson of 231 Horton Street miraculously survived one very great adventure. That adventure was falling 50 feet off the London & Port Stanley (L&PS) railway bridge at Philip Street, and into the waters of the Thames below. What was miraculous is that Tommy missed several huge stones that dotted the river – and that a daring soldier managed to locate the little boy on the river bottom. All in all, Tommy had a day that he, the soldier and the L&PS train crew, would never forget. Continue reading “Young Fisherman Survives Fall from SoHo’s L&PS Bridge”
This handsome red brick building at 186 Waterloo Street, may be London’s earliest surviving school. The Waterloo South Primary School (the cottage-like structure to the left) was erected in 1864. The land on which it stands was granted by the Crown to Charles Brock on December 4,1842. Continue reading “Waterloo South Primary School, An Architectural Gem”